2014: A Year In Review

Posted on December 21, 2014

0


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sun sets on San Diego

As we come to the end of another year, it’s time to reflect, make some acknowledgements, both good and bad, and share gained wisdom with myself. 2014 was indeed an interesting year, and the last one where I was still in my 20’s..aaaahhh!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Roxy is grumpy

The year began with heartbreak, and unfaithfulness from who I thought loved me. It made me possibly less trusting, lose some of my self-confidence, and I feared a relapse into depression. Luckily I have some amazing friends, including some new ones that rallied to support me, help me recover my balance and not fall off the tight rope, for which I am eternally grateful. You know who you are. Nevertheless it was difficult, especially since it affected my dance experience, which is normally my safe space. However this taught me some valuable relationship lessons, on what to look for and be wary of, and to be more mature in reading others’ personality and character and not let beauty cloud my judgement too much. It taught me to get relationship priorities straight, be patient and think before I jump. Before everything unravelled at the end of 2013, there were lies; all I will say is that they concerned the ‘R’ word. Apart from smashing my head against a wall thinking how gullible I was, I guess I could be proud of how I reacted to support my love, and help her deal with a difficult situation which in reality she was not going through. This had to be acknowledged, but is not the point of this piece. Thanks to everything I do and the amazing people in my life I recovered and became my old self fairly quickly. I also met many wonderful people, and had a few flings that were all together positive in terms of net result. At this point it may be fun to count how many times I use some adjectives.

As the year approaches its end, I feel my life has reached somewhat of a watershed moment. I have crossed off a few items on my personal and professional development checklist, but others are yet to be checked, and require some deep and careful reflection, analysis and brave decision making. I completed my MBA, which was a very enriching experience, not only due to the course itself, but also the relationships and networks created, knowledge gained of life and of a different culture portrayed often inaccurately in media, as well as knowledge of accounting, marketing, finance, and supply chains. I graduated near the top of my class, resulting in induction into an honour society. It has Greek letter so probably the closest I’d ever get to a frat: Great. Post MBA career: not so great, yet. I dropped the ball here a few times and was less adventurous than I should have been, but I have a good feeling that 2015 will help turn this for the better.

During my MBA I also got to work with the University of San Diego Office of Sustainability as a Grad Assistant, where I worked with a great, funny, crazy and positively interesting team, and had some great times, including attempting to shoot a rap music video wearing the school mascot outfit. I learned new skills and developed existing ones in the professional field that I am in, as well as helping keep some other skills alive (from HVAC to patience). Apart from this, I got to complete what effectively was my OE, and to develop further in Dance, and compete and perform in the style love most: Zouk. I got to teach classes and organize events (at least some of which were well attended) to help grow the Zouk and Kizomba scene in the US. This included the first time when I was asked to travel to another city to teach a dance class. After 2011, when I discovered Zouk, 2014 has been the best year for my dancing. I also got, partly due to growing up and party due to emotional pain, much more spiritual. Not so much religious but I began delving more into the philosophy of religion and spirituality, to understand, and where suitable embrace.

Many challenges and unfulfilled dreams await fulfilment in 2015, and it will not be easy. However I am confident that I will get there, in terms of profession, my social and community involvement, dance, art and love. It is time now for acknowledgements.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lobo is looking forward to 2015 (Roxy and Lobo are my old flatty’s pets) and have a special place in my heart

There are too many to name names and I do not wish to embarrass or exclude. However you know who you are, and many others also know who you are. For those that helped me get through the hard times, those that were there to talk, to introduce me to aspects of their faith without pressure, to give hugs etc. when needed (even guys need hugs), or just spend time; thank you. I will not forget. For the amazing people that allowed me to be a part of their lives, to live with them, trust me when I couldn’t afford to put down a deposit or rent in advance, to give me opportunities to dance, to trust me to talk to them and help make them feel better; thank you and I am glad you are in my life.

To the family, my close inner circle of friends, you are still the bunch of nutcases that you were in 2004 when we all got together. Gosh that was ten years ago. I suppose being experienced professionals, scholars and top rate management consultants doesn’t mean drawing penis shapes and moustaches during video chats is not still fun. You know how much you mean to me, and that has not changed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Torreros!!

To my MBA and other USD friends, you guys really made the last two years of my very special. Thank you and I hope we stay in touch where ever we end up!

To my hippie tree hugging, environmentalist friends, you continue to inspire me to do what is right, to not shy away from recognizing the challenges we face due to our own action or inaction and actually do something about it, for the sake of us all.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Zoukers at LA Zouk 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

SD Dance friends

To my dance friends, all the social dancing, performances, competitions show how far hard work and dedication can take you in any field, and you inspire me. It has been an absolute pleasure watching some of you grow, and watching the rest of you make floating in air look so easy. You also make up my space from stress, and help me maintain my sanity and artistic expression. To those dance friends that let me crash with them, even when I pissed off the landlord by dead bolting the door and locking them out of their own house, I don’t know what to do without you. To all the elegant and beautiful women in San Diego, Auckland, LA, DC, Orange County and elsewhere that danced with me, I hope you had as much fun dancing with me as I did with you. I will have to write another note to thank you… because you created some of the sweetest memories of them all, and absolute delight to all the senses, merging the pulse of our hearts with the vibration of the music. As usual I will end with Robert Frost:

The woods are lovely, dark and deep

But I have promises to keep

And miles to go before I sleep

And miles to go before I sleep

Marry Xmas and Happy New Year everybody!!!

Posted in: Life